Long Term Athlete Development

In 2018, CEC published the Sport Climbing For Sport, For Life – LTAD Long-Term Athlete Development model.

“This document is a framework for the Sport Climbing community: coaches, officials, facility operators, and administrators, to guide development of programs for all athletes, in both recreational and competitive settings. The recommendations made here are the result of collaboration by Canada’s Sport Climbing experts, an initiative of CEC, Climbing Escalade Canada. CEC recognizes a need for greater continuity within the Sport Climbing community and the broader sport system to provide all of our athletes with an equal opportunity to achieve great results, whether in local events or at international levels. This is another giant step forward for Sport Climbing in our nation.”

The Sport Climbing LTAD model includes 8 stages of development:

  1. Active Start: birth to age 6
  2. FUNdamentals: Age 6 to 8 (females) or 9 (males)
  3. Learn to Train: Age 9 to 11 (females) or 12 (males)
  4. Train to Train: Age 11-15 (F) or 12-16 (M)
  5. Learn to Compete: Age 15-17 (F) or 16-18 (M)
  6. Learn to Win: Age 16 and older
  7. Winning for a Living: Age 18 and older
  8. Active for life: Any age after the growth spurt


Climbing Participant Pathway


Visit Our Shop

Follow Us on Instagram